Cyber Rights Now!!! Netstrike - Web Protest for the Masses! Cyber Rights Now!!!


Netstrike contro Zedillo!


ELECTRONIC DISTURBANCE THEATER BULLETIN
Friday, Sept. 5, 1998


-- 

ELECTRONIC DISTURBANCE THEATER BULLETIN

http://www.nyu.edu/projects/wray/ecd.html

- For Immediate Release -

Friday, Sept. 5, 1998

NETSTRIKE IN MEXICO, THE UNITED STATES, AND GERMANY ON SEPT. 9

AGAINST ZEDILLO, THE PENTAGON, AND FRANKFURT STOCK EXCHANGE 

FALL CAMPAIGN ON THE STREET AND ON THE NET

In solidarity with the Zapatistas in Chiapas, Mexico, and with people

everywhere struggling against the global neoliberal economy, the Electronic

Disturbance Theater calls for multiple acts of Electronic Civil

Disobedience (SWARM), on Wednesday, September 9, 1998.

The Electronic Disturbance Theater issues this call in connection with its

participation in the Ars Electronica Festival on Infowar, held in Linz,

Austria, from September 7 to 12. (http://web.aec.at/infowar)

Actions will begin on Sept. 9 at 11:00 a.m. (Linz time) for a 24 hour

period. Other start times are: Berlin 11:00 a.m.; London 10:00 a.m.; New

York 5:00 a.m.; Mexico City 4:00 a.m.; and San Francisco 2:00 a.m.

Our FloodNet software will target three web sites in Mexico, the United

States, and Europe representing three important sectors: government,

military, and financial.

     1) President Zedillo (http://www.presidencia.gob.mx)

     2) The Pentagon (http://www.defenselink.mil)

    3) The Frankfurt Stock Exchange (http://www.exchange.de)

When enough people simultaneously connect their Internet browsers to the

FloodNet address it effectively blocks the targeted site. 

To join the actions, simply point to and click on the FloodNet foyer on the

Electronic Civil Disobedience web page during the 24 hour period.

(http://www.nyu.edu/projects/wray/ecd.html) Leave your browser connected to

FloodNet for as long as you can. 

Details and more specific instructions will be sent just before the action.

We also urge people to engage in their own actions against these three

sites at the same time as ours.

We propose multiple actions, virtual and real, aimed at multiple targets on

September 9 but also for a series of dates this fall. We call for these

hybrid Street/Net actions on September 16 (Mexican Independence Day),

October 12 (Columbus Day), and November 22 (Day of Action at the School of

the Americas).

In addition, the Electronic Disturbance Theater will join with others in

the micro-power radio movement in the United States for actions aimed at

the Federal Communication Commission on Oct. 4 and 5 for that agency´s role

in suppressing free speech on the airwaves. (http://www.fcc.gov/)

-- 












Per maggiori informazioni : info@netstrike.it







Isole nella Rete - autonomous zone!

sito ospitato da Isole nella Rete